It pays to talk


I popped into Cambridge (UK) International Bookstore in Hills Road today. I can always get up-to-date news about the EFL world there. While I had time on my hands, I chatted about books that sell. It seems that the highest sellers are course books, which is to be expected. Methodology books that I thought would sell well, sell only moderately I was told.

If you are writing an EFL book, the advice is to write for the students. Surprisingly enough there were no rival diaries of language learners on the shelves. Perhaps I may be starting something new for the market (or I may be providing something that very few people will be interested in!). It will be an interesting exercise trying to make my PHD diary readable whatever the case.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

