Beware those dangerous prepositions


I had written my piece for the month and sent it. After a moment’s pause, I had a sudden fear that I had used the wrong preposition. It is amazing how such a tiny word can have such a devastating effect. I had written something to the effect that in November we witness the opening of parliament. Black Rod knocking on the door of the House of Commons represents freedom ‘from’ interference by the House of Commons. The single word ‘from’ made the sentence absolutely untrue. What I should have said was ‘freedom from interference by the Queen for the House of Commons’.  Prepositions are obviously very powerful words that must be used with caution.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

