Prejudice against our European visitors


It is easy to see how prejudice can creep in. When trying to buy a cup of hot chocolate recently, the girl serving was obviously from Eastern Europe. Her English was very limited. When she could not provide the marshmallows, I expected her to say something like: “I’m sorry, we have run out of them for the moment.” What she actually said was: “We don’t have.” When I pointed to the sign advertising the fact that they did indeed ‘have’ them, she scowled as if I was being stupid. When I offered an explanation i.e. “You mean you have run out of them?” she ignored my question. I felt as if she had been less than courteous, but realized that the problem was probably more a language one than one of attitude.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

