On publishing your own book 1


After waiting months for a publishing company to come back to me about publishing one of my books, after discovering that one firm’s ‘editing’ was worse than my own and after so many salutary rebuffs or complete lack of response from reputable publishers, I have decided to bite the bullet and publish my own book.

It seems more and more important that it is the people you approach that makes the difference – not the particular firm. I asked a local publisher I know and he offered me the name of a copy-editor. When I emailed the copy-editor I got an immediate response – wow!  Not only that, she addressed me personally and set out what she could offer clearly. For the first time I feel we will be able to work together and negotiate a sensible way forward. The only problem will be the cost of getting the book into shape and published. I cannot see how I would ever cover costs, but maybe as a long-term investment it might still be worth it. It might also be worth investigating the tax implications.

I guess the next thing is to write the book – so with renewed vigour I leave this piece of writing to get down to it. I plan to add more about what happens in the process of publishing my book but I have learnt to be realistic – plans initiated by human beings are not necessarily carried out as intended! Until next issue, perhaps …

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

