So you think you can write in English?


So you think you can write in English? Well, I though I could until I wrote my book ‘Out of a Learner’s Mouth’. Conscious that I wanted people to be able to read the book easily, I asked a copy editor to correct my minor mistakes. I was horrified at the number of changes she needed to make! Try these for size: (I know context matters – but still, give it a go… What do you think? What I wrote is followed by how the copy-editor changed my writing.

What I wrote: Their scoring is not fair. I went to the restaurant at night. I have a walk every night. The stresses are not quite right I have to keep looking it up in the dictionary for it is impossible to guess what it means. I want to speak with him I grab my keys to the flat. I need to see the words when I am listening.

How the copy editor changed my writing: Their scoring is UNfair.I went to the restaurant ONE night. I GO ON a walk every night. The stresses DON’T SOUND right. I have to keep looking it up in the dictionary AS it is impossible to guess what it means. I want to speak TO him. I grab THE keys to MY flat. I need to see the words WHILE I am listening

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

