I used to think I could write, but …


I used to think I could write but after I gave the script of my book ‘Out of a Learner’s Mouth’ to a copy editor, I am not so sure! Here are some more of my mistakes for you to try. It is set out thus: my original script/ suggested changes by the copy editor;

I am slow in recalling./ I am slow when recalling.;

At the beginning …/First;

I make sure my money is secure. /Checking  my money is secure.;

 I can’t be bothered checking. / I can’t be bothered to check..;

I try to force myself to know what the change should be./ I work out the change.;

… which makes it much more interesting/… which is much more interesting;

Mental blockage…/mental block;

I will concentrate on the listening and vocab. exercises only./ I will just concentrate on the listening and vocab. exercises;

Maybe I am justified in rebelling. / Maybe I am right to rebel.;

If they failed to understand something, a point or exercise …/ If they failed to understand a point or exercise …;

They did not get the feeling that they were failing/ They did feel that they were failing.

.Being a rather uncouth bunch of individuals, to say the least, …/.As we were a rather uncouth bunch of individuals …;

At this stage in my life …/now;

But I cannot see a connection so I …/ But as I cannot see a connection there I…

I could make an intelligent guess./ I am getting better at guessing.

… memories of taking …/ I remember.;

I am associating words with the French. / I associate words with the French.;

While I am watching it, I realize …/ While I watch it, I realize …

Geared for new students … / Geared to new students …

I am just reading vocab. / I can read the vocab.;

I have reached the very first tiny rung in a long uphill struggle. / I have reached the first rung of a long uphill struggle.;

I am motivated about…/ I am motivated towards…;

I cannot think of the words. / I cannot remember the words.;

While teaching last week, during coffee break, …/ During coffee break at teaching last week, …;

As I come out of the lift and head towards …/ Heading towards …   END         

When Isee the corrections, I think ‘of course!’. I wonder how long it will take for me to write without so many errors. As they say, it is ‘practice, practice, practice’ that will win the day.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “I used to think I could write, but …”

  1. caitlinmuir Says:

    I’m going through my first (attempt of at a) novel with a critique group. What I thought was so polished was in dire need of a sanding belt! Keep working at it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

