The best way to learn how to use a foreign language naturally


I think I have found out the best way to learn how to write and speak Spanish naturally – well, the best way for me, that is. A Spanish friend and I now write to each other. I try to write in Spanish and she tries to write in English and we correct each other’s letters and return them. Looking at what I wrote originally and then looking at the corrections my friend has made lets me see that even though I may be grammatically correct, it is not what native speakers usually say – there are more natural phrases to use. Now I can try to learn these phrases and use then in my next letter(s) and hopefully, eventually, absorb them into my usual use of Spanish. This, for me, is definitely the way forward.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

