Review: Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James


Review: Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James

I’m a great admirer of the work of P. D James. I have devoured every book of hers I could lay

my hands on. She captured me as an avid reader when she described the atmosphere and

character of Cambridge so perfectly. Her characters and plots were always interesting and

the books thoroughly enjoyable.

However, when I bought ‘Death Comes to Pemberley’ I was mystified. Why would someone

who can provide her own vivid characters borrow someone else’s – characters that

are already familiar to many of us? Why would she try to change her style of writing

when her own was brilliant?

I’m afraid I couldn’t finish the book. As I am want to do, I decided to look at

the first few hundred words and analyse what was wrong. Was it me? Was I being too fussy?

I’d remembered Jane Austen’s ‘Pride and Prejudice’ from school days, so I looked up

‘Pride and Prejudice’ on the ‘Gutenberg’ website (well worth a visit). Sure enough,

I could see why Jane Austen’s writing was so attractive.

Her first paragraph starts with a single stark sentence that sets the drama of the whole book.

“It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in possession of a good fortune,

must be in want of a wife”

This book is going to explore what happens as the society around him endeavours

to ‘catch him’ as a husband.

Jane Austen then immediately introduces one of the main, strong characters,

the unforgettable Mrs Bennet and her dramatic busy-body, control-freak ways. She announces to her husband that someone new is coming to

Netherfield Park.

Mr Bennet character is also immediately revealed as he hardly

answers his wife and lets her ‘rabbit on’.

A thoroughly good beginning.

Now to ‘Death Comes to Pemberley’:

I was expecting a similar introduction or re-affirmation of the characters.

There is no statement of a general truth

to indicate the drama that follows. The first sentence describes

where we are, giving the precise day and year,

just in the way you would expect a modern whodunit to begin.

The character is introduced with statements about her preferences with

the decor of a room. I looked in vain for the dialogue of Jane Austen,

so I sadly put it aside.

When the TV programme was advertised I decided I must watch.

The problem is obviously mine. Sure enough I enjoyed the three programmes.

The acting was very good, the costumes and settings were wonderful.

I could believe I was there in that past century. Also, of course, with P.D. James,

the plot was full of interest.

However, the whole experience felt surreal. It was P.D. James all right,

but what were the Darcy’s doing there? It didn’t feel right at all. It would have been

great if fresh new characters had been involved. Maybe next time P.D. James

has a whim to write another whodunit she could be persuaded to revert

to her usual, brilliant, original, self-made, whodunit style? Please?

Tags: , , , ,

One Response to “Review: Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James”

  1. M T McGuire Says:

    Mwah ha ha ahrgh someone was just telling me how brilliant it was a couple of days ago. Light and shade! I’ve been humming and haaing about it but have held off because it doesn’t sound quite my thing.

    Cheers

    MTM

Leave a Reply

