poem: ‘At the graveside’


You are always with me,

sitting quietly by my side.

You made me, you know me,

together, we dream at the dark-cloud sky.

 

When I rave against rages

rising from time’s ravenous beast ,

your calm patience waits,

waits until my soul is at peace

and you and I stay still in our eternal silence.

 

You are always with me,

wrapping your warmth

around my restless sleep,

soothing seething thoughts

that wrangle and jangle in the night.

 

You are always with me

savouring Spring’s new-born glow,

suspended in time while murmuring bees

fetch nectar from flowers on your eternal home.

You, are always with me.

2 Responses to “poem: ‘At the graveside’”

  1. M T McGuire Says:

    That is fantastic. Really lovely. Is it one of yours?

  2. rjwestwell Says:

    yes ‘At the graveside’ is the poem I wrote to read at the open mic for Fen Speak last night 19th Feb 2014. I’m glad you like it. I did sweat over it a bit and worried that it did not have a completely regular form or rhythm…

Leave a Reply

