‘A Close Look at Unseen Poetry’ – a book to help your prepare for your examination in English


If you are a teacher or student of English and are about to prepare for an examination in which you need to analyse a poem that you have never seen before, you may be interested in my book ‘A Close Look at Unseen Poetry’. It is now available on Amazon. I write this, not just to sell the book, but I hope that I can be of some help to people who are very busy and do not have the time to gather such information together before preparing for the exam.
I have tried to give lists, quizzes and descriptions that introduce poetry styles, structures, metres and special devices such as metaphor and personification. Then I have selected 26 well-known poets and or poems that are almost an essential part of our upbringing. – poems like Rudyard Kipling’s ‘If’ and Elizabeth Browning’s ‘How Do I Love Thee?’. I have analysed each poem, trying to get to the heart of the meanings the words convey, providing the starting point for you or your students to agree or disagree and develop your or their own powers of observation.
I hope it is of some help and I would be very interested in your comments.

Leave a Reply

